Saturday Morning Tea

ChinGyokuroDry111409

Outside the sky is weeping, reflecting what my heart feels inside. This past week was a very sad one in my home. We lost our beloved black Lab, Jack, and the world feels as if it has shifted upon its axis and will never be the same again. It came suddenly, however, we had time to say our farewells and honor our dear old friend. It is amazing to me how everyone who hears the news comes forward and generously opens their heart and shares their own story about the passing of a beloved pet. They are in our lives for what feels like the briefest amount of time, like a shooting star blazing across the heavens and then it is gone. But their wonderful memory lives on forever in our hearts. Jack taught me so much about loyalty and unconditional love. So much about love…

I need a big dose of comfort this morning and so I turn to green tea. I am sipping a green tea from China that one usually associates with Japan, an organic Gyokuro. Produced for the Japanese market, everything about this tea is Japanese except for where it is grown. I have written about Japanese Gyokuro tea and its unique growing and processing here and here.

ChinGyokuroSteep111409

The tea bushes are shaded with a dark cloth approximately 3 weeks before plucking. This gives the leaf an amazing deep emerald color.

ChinGyokuroWet111409

It reminds me of cooked spinach, very healthy and very green.

I steeped the leaves in 180 degree F water for 3 minutes.

ChinGyokuroTeapot111409

The color of the tea liquor kind of reminds me of that Italian liqueur, Limoncello, made from lemon zest, alcohol, sugar and water. The taste is not lemony at all, however, but clean and quite vegetal.

As I slowly sip and gaze out at the wet day, a gentle calm slips over me.

ChinGyokuroTealid111409

As the tea cools, a lively, tart pungency is revealed, a flavor note that I associate with Japanese green teas.

ChinGyokuroTeacup111409

Clean. Fresh. Simple. Calm.

JackTeaPost111409

Rest in peace, my dear, beloved friend. You will always live in my heart…

I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me they are the role model for being alive.

~Gilda Radner

13 comments on “Saturday Morning Tea

  1. Snap says:

    So sorry to hear about Jack.

  2. Kacy Clarke says:

    I’m sorry for the loss of your dear friend. We lost our two dear girls this year. It is so hard.

  3. n4sir says:

    I too recently lost a pet it was a feline and soon I will lose another to other complications. Your words would mirror mine accept for pet species. Sorry to hear about your loss…

  4. That is such a beutifull tea pot !!! ….. where can I get one?

  5. T. says:

    I’m so very sorry to hear about Jack. He’s beautiful.

  6. Melissa says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. 😦

  7. judysheart says:

    Karen.. Jack gave love and was given love. We all can hope to have a life like that. He was lucky and lived a long life. He will definitely be missed, but I know you’ll have some great memories.. both of you.

  8. Cha sen says:

    I can imagine your sadness at the loss of a beloved member of the family. His memories however will always live with you.

  9. Roberta says:

    Hi Karen,
    I’m so sorry to hear about Jack. I hurts so bad, I know. We lost our golden retreiver a couple of years ago too. So Sad. But we have such great memories and still laugh at some of his antics.
    Thinking of you during this time of loss.
    Roberta

  10. Bruce says:

    Sorry for your loss Karen. Losing a pet is always hard, especially one that is close to you.

  11. artandtea says:

    Thank you all so much for your kind and generous thoughts. They are much appreciated!

  12. Steph W says:

    Karen – sending love to all.
    Stephanie

  13. artandtea says:

    Thanks so much, Steph.

Leave a comment