My finished Mosaicon

thewayoftea1.jpg

I recently put the finishing touches on my mosaicon, “The Way of Tea”, created in Laurie Mika’s workshop last weekend. I cut a couple of small tiles to fill in the small areas. For the very skinny areas, I poured various size seed beads and then filled the space with Judikins Diamond Glaze to glue them in place.

Here is a closeup of the glass vial I filled with green tea leaves. It’s one of my favorite China greens called Tian Mu Qing Ding. The hand rolled leaf is just beautiful. You can see my review on this tea here.

thewayoftea2.jpgthewayoftea4.jpgthewayoftea3.jpg

My friend Amy has also written about our wonderful workshop adventure here.

10 comments on “My finished Mosaicon

  1. Frivolitea says:

    I am so interested to see your work from that workshop. Your finished piece is beautiful! Again, I do so wish I could take a workshop from her as well. But this is a nice way to live vicariously. Thanks!

  2. artandtea says:

    Thanks so much Lynn! And you’re quite welcome. In the meantime, have fun with Laurie’s book, if you can.

  3. LindaCCC says:

    I’ve been a fan of Laurie Mika’s work for a long time and I’ve been following the blogs of those who attended her workshop. You were all so lucky to be there!

    I love your tea mosaicon and I’m intrigued by the teacup/teapot tile. Could you explain how you made it? I like the puffiness of it.

    In another post you talk about the clips in your light tent. What brand is your light tent?

    Also, why are all your blog posts appearing on another blog called A to Z by someone called Borok Bangsaku?

    Thanks very much,

    Linda

  4. artandtea says:

    Thanks for visiting Linda! The teacup/teapot tile was made with an old terra cotta cookie mold. I pushed the clay into the mold, painted it then baked. The puffiness was created by pushing the clay into the depression of the mold.

    My light tent is an EZ Cube.

    Thank you so much for telling me about that other blog. It appears that this individual steals content from other blogs on a regular basis by copying the sourcecode. I have reported this infringement to Blogger and, hopefully, it will stop them.

    -Karen

  5. LindaCCC says:

    You’re very welcome, Karen. I thought it was weird that your posts would appear elsewhere. I discovered them because I get Google alerts whenever anyone posts anything about Laurie Mika and I was getting your posts twice. He was passing off your posts as his! The nerve of some people!

    Thanks for the teapot tile and the light tent info.

    If you don’t mind me asking (I love the look of the teapot tile), what order did you paint the three colors (black, turquoise, green)? I love the way the black outlines the pattern and I can’t figure out how you did that so well.

    Thanks very much,

    Linda CCC

  6. artandtea says:

    Hi Linda,
    I don’t mind sharing that info with you at all! The tile itself was created with black polymer clay. After I made the tile using the mold, I lightly dabbed the paint on the raised areas with my finger. So, the black outline is actually the polymer clay that hasn’t been covered in paint. You can use any kind of mold or rubber stamp to create a pattern in the clay and then dab on either Pearl-ex powders or acrylic paint on the raised areas created by the mold or stamp. Whatever color polymer you used will “outline” the painted/powdered areas. I absolutely love working with paints and powders on polymer clay. To see the paints I used, look back on my “Synergy Purchases” post. They’re awesome paints! I purchased them from Polymer Clay Express.
    -Karen

  7. Dora says:

    Wonderful mosaicon, Karen. It’s full of visual interest, and of course, meaning! I love the symbolism you used, and the bottle of tea leaves at the center really brings it all together !

  8. artandtea says:

    Thanks Dora, I appreciate your kind comments.

  9. LindaCCC says:

    Thanks, Karen! You’re very generous to share your method. I love the look of that teapot tile and the black outline makes sense now. Those paints look gorgeous! Dark, deep color but they’re also bright and shimmery. The paints I have (but haven’t used yet) are more in the pastel range. I think I’m going to have to get some of these… they’re beautiful.

    Many thanks,

    Linda CCC

  10. artandtea says:

    You’re very welcome, Linda. I hope you enjoy playing with paints and polymer clay.
    Please come back for a visit. I’m looking forward to hearing about how you liked the new paints!

    -Karen

Leave a comment