Progress on my January Beaded Journal Page

januarypageprogress.jpg

As I was beginning to think about my January page, I imagined a spiral path. Spirals keep popping up in my pages. I had so much fun creating the glazed face cabochons at my guild meeting a couple of weeks ago that I knew that I’d like to continue working with glazed polymer clay. So, I’ve created polymer clay “pebbles” for my path. I used some letter stamps to spell out “The Journey to Myself”, commemorating the journey of a lifetime and celebrating my 50th birthday. I love the way that the glaze concentrated in the recessed letters.

januarypageprogresscloseup.jpgjanuarypageprogressxcloseup.jpg

What do you think?

21 comments on “Progress on my January Beaded Journal Page

  1. Acey says:

    those letter beads are very awesome. I love the energy that comes from that sharp electric turquoise but actually it’s the tan and amber colors that are much warmer on the color scale. So that’s a very powerful and seductive dynamic tension. I began this project with a page on the same theme although my journey wasn’t very cohesive I do have a strong appreciation and resonance for this particular theme. Have noticed there are some others who have also marked their 50th birthday as part of this journal project. A miniature sub-tribe!

  2. artandtea says:

    Thanks Acey, I’m really enjoying playing with the glaze and the polymer clay. The tan color on the “pebbles” is actually gold pearl-ex that I rubbed on before I painted on the glaze. It really gives it a warm stone appearance that I absolutely love.

    Yes, I noticed the same thing about others celebrating a 50th birthday. How very interesting…. 😉

    -Karen

  3. Arline says:

    Karen,
    I really like this piece. The combination of the backround fabric and beads is wonderful. I want to do some more PC work now that I have more time. I’ll have to try that pebble look. Very Kool.

    Arline

  4. Madness (Pam T) says:

    I really like this too! love the letter beads and the whole project!!!

  5. artandtea says:

    Thanks Arline. I hope you have a lot of fun experimenting with polymer clay!

    Thanks Pam!

  6. Brenda says:

    You did a fantastic job on the pebbles, and the whole page. The fabric reminds me of mini mandalas in the background of the larger spiral.
    What a fitting overview of this momentous time in your life.
    I also turned 50 during this project, back in September. My theme for the month was transformation. I am so glad that I have something so special to remember it by. As you will too.
    Happy Belated Birthday!

  7. Frivolitea says:

    I love the pebbles and the beaded spiral!

  8. artandtea says:

    And happy belated birthday to you, Brenda. I saw your page, it was magnificent! Thanks for your kind comments about my page.

    Thanks Frivolitea!

  9. A most cool page to celebrate your birthday!

    Kathy V in NM

  10. vivage says:

    🙂 Happy Birthday to a fellow turning 50 this month person! My birthday was Fri the 8th and I’m in the middle of doing my own journey to 50.

    I love yours, we have spirals & some colors in common too. You’re also inspiring me to blog about my thoughts on 50 AND finally take some pics to post (my blog is woefully behind.)

  11. vivage says:

    Ok, duh, we turn 50 in the same year but not the same month! I’m a dork!

  12. artandtea says:

    Thanks Kathy!

    And happy birthday to you, Vivage!

  13. Morwyn says:

    I really like your ‘pebbles’ – they deepen the dimension of your message – and the background fabric is great.

  14. Barb says:

    Very cool! I loved the interplay between the fabric, the beads and the message. Speaking as your elder (I’m about to turn 52) I can assure you that the years just keep getting better and better!

  15. Steph W says:

    I like it very much!

  16. Steph W says:

    PS – Happy Birthday!!!

  17. Robin says:

    It’s so neat that you not only came up with the idea and did the beading, but also made the letters/pebbles yourself. It’s all you and all about you! Now that’s what I call a birthday celebration! Bravo!

  18. Sandra says:

    What a wonderful project, I love your beads and the spirals…..a superb way to mark turning 50.

  19. JUdi D says:

    Happy b-day, I turned 50 last year. Great page to yourself!

  20. artandtea says:

    Thanks Barb, that’s what I’ve heard and I’m looking forward to it!

    Thanks Steph for your well wishes!

    Thanks Robin, I find that I enjoy creating beads as much as beading with them!

    Thanks Sandra for your kind comments and wishes!

    Thanks Judi, I hope you are enjoying 50!

Leave a comment